The Matric Pass Requirements – What You Need To Know

In this article, you will read about the Matric Pass Requirements, Everything you need to know about Matric Pass. Read details below.

So many people ask the following questions?

After reading this article you will get the answers to the questions above.

Elijah Mhlanga, a spokesman for the Department of Basic Education explains, “If the learner does not satisfy the minimum subject requirements, he will not be awarded with the National Senior Certificate, even though he may have attained an exceptionally high mark in one or two of the other subjects.”

Matric Pass Requirements

There are 4 matric pass levels:

  1. National Senior Certificate Pass
  2. Higher certificate
  3. Diploma
  4. Bachelor’s Degree (commonly known as an exemption).

Here are the pass requirements for each of these levels:

National Senior Certificate Pass

This is the bare minimum needed to pass your matric year. 

  • An APS score of at least 3 in your home language
  • An APS score of at least 3 in 2 other subjects
  • An APS score of 2 in 4 other subjects
  • A total APS score of 14

You can use this APS calculator to calculate your score.

Higher Certificate Pass Requirements

  • Must obtain 40% in your Home Language.
  • Must obtain at least 40% in two other subjects.
  • Must obtain at least 30% for three other subjects.
  • It is important to note that one of your languages must either be English or Afrikaans to qualify for a Higher Certificate.

Diploma Pass Requirements

  • Must obtain at least 40% for your Home Language.
  • Must obtain at least 40% for three other High Credit subjects (Four, including your home language.).
  • Must obtain at least 30% for two other subjects.

Bachelor’s Degree Pass Requirements

  • Must obtain at least 40% for your Home Language.
  • Must obtain at least 50% for four other High Credit subjects.
  • Must obtain at least 30% for two other subjects.

Level system

  • Level 7: 80 – 100% (Outstanding achievement)
  • Level 6: 70 – 79% (Meritorious achievement)
  • Level 5: 60 – 69% (Substantial achievement)
  • Level 4: 50 – 59% (Moderate achievement)
  • Level 3: 40 – 49% (Adequate achievement)
  • Level 2: 30 – 39% (Elementary achievement)
  • Level 1: 0 – 29% (Not achieved – Fail)

Which subjects are compulsory?

  • Home Language
  • First Additional Language
  • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
  • Life Orientation

What are High Credit subjects?

  • Languages
  • Accounting
  • Agricultural Science
  • Business Studies
  • Consumer Studies
  • Dramatic Arts
  • Economics
  • Engineering Graphics & Design
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information Technology
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Mathematical Literacy
  • Music
  • Physical Sciences
  • Religion Studies
  • Visual Arts

Low Credit subjects

  • Agricultural Management Practices
  • Agricultural Technology
  • Civil Technology
  • Computer Applications Technology
  • Dance Studies
  • Design Studies
  • Electrical Technology
  • Hospitality Studies
  • Mechanical Technology
  • Tourism

What can I do if I failed matric?

If you have failed your matric.  Here is a list of things that you can choose from:

  • You can register for Adult matric
  • Register at another school and repeat your matric year.
  • Get a remark.  When your papers are remarked, every answer will be marked again to see which answers are correct and which answers are incorrect.
  • Get a recheck.  When you get a recheck for your exam papers, they check to see that your results were added up correctly.

Where can I get financial assistance for higher education?

Many private institutions are offering financial support. For bursaries offered by the Western Cape Government, you can visit our bursaries page for more information.

If you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, please share it on Facebook or Twitter with the buttons below.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected by DMCA!!