Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)


Tshwane University of Technology, established in 2004 is a higher education institution in South Africa that came into being through a merger of three technikons — Technikon Northern Gauteng, Technikon North-West, and Technikon Pretoria. The University had over sixty thousand students as of 2017. Their merger is aimed at redressing the inequalities of the past by providing access to all our communities and an academic home for all our students.

Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)
In that short time, they have grown into the largest contact University in South Africa, with seven faculties offering programmes in science, engineering and technology, business and management, education, humanities and the arts.
They have been ranked by Times Higher Education (THE) in 2018 as one of the top 1000 universities globally and our programmes in engineering are in the top 300. The has also ranked us eighth in South Africa. In 2017, University Ranking by Academic Performance (URAP) ranked them as the number one University of Technology in Africa.
Equally important, as a people’s university our moral purpose is to be the embodiment and custodian of our people’s aspirations. This strategic intent is foregrounded by the outcomes of our Transformation Summit held in 2017 and the subsequent Transformation Framework, which was informed by national, continental and global developmental goals.
They University provides an academic home for all our people, especially for those who are at the margins of society, rural and urban, by maximising access to higher education to address our triple challenges of poverty, inequality and unemployment.
Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) adopt a decolonial position as our programmes aim to have a liberating effect by ensuring that our learning becomes a continuum of creation, innovation and technology transfer to serve the aspirations of our communities.
Anchored in the African philosophy of Ubuntu, we are a caring and compassionate University and a site of ideation, intellectualism and engaged scholarship to effect social change and transformation.

Faculties Offered At TUT

The Tshwane University of Technology offers a wide variety of under- and postgraduate qualifications that fit into the following faculties:

  • Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • Faculty of Information and Communication Technology
  • Faculty of The Arts
  • Faculty of Economics and Finance

Read the full list of TUT Courses Offered Here.


How To Apply


Step 1:  Get your application form.

  • Online Application:
    Undergraduate and postgraduate applicants use the same online application process.
  • Hardcopy Application:
    This option is only available to undergraduate applicants.  Postgraduates need to apply online.

You can post your application to:

Private Bag X680
Pretoria 0001
Staatsartillerie Road
Pretoria West

Step 2:  Complete your application form in full.


*Remember you’ll need to calculate your APS.

Step 3:  Attach all supporting documents.

Step 4:  Apply for residence should you need student accommodation.

Application Fees

The application fee is R240.

Remember to: Calculate your APS.

Contact Info And Website

086 110 2421

Need to find the institution?

Check out the TUT campus addresses here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *