North West University (NWU)

North West University (NWU) is a multi-campus university with a footprint across two provinces. The Mahikeng and Potchefstroom Campuses are situated in the North-West Province and the Vanderbijlpark Campus is in Gauteng. The head office, known as the Institutional Office, is in Potchefstroom, situated near the Potchefstroom Campus.


North West University (NWU)

The NWU is committed to functioning as a unitary, integrated, multi-campus university that enables equity, redress, and globally competitive teaching and research across all three of our campuses. Our core activities, teaching-learning, and research are intertwined with community engagement and innovation in our eight faculties, most of which serve our contact students and a select few that also include our distance-learning students.

Northwest University abbreviated as NWU is one of South Africa’s largest universities with a recorded number of 73,414 students in 2016. It was established on 1 January 2004 and has 3 campuses situated in Potchefstroom, Mafikeng, and Vanderbijlpark.


Courses Offered In NWU 

The university offers a wide variety of under- and post-graduate qualifications that fit into the following faculties.

Economic and Management Sciences

Accounting Sciences
Business & Governance  (Business School)
Economic Sciences
Industrial Psychology and Human Resource Management
Management Sciences


Language Education
Psycho-Social Education
Professional Studies in Education
Mathematics, Science, and Technology Education
Commerce and Social Studies in Education
– Engineering

Chemical and Minerals Engineering
Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering
Industrial Engineering
– Health Sciences

Human Movement Sciences
Psychosocial Health
Consumer Sciences
Occupational Hygiene
– Humanities

Communication Studies
Government Studies
Social Sciences
– Law


BA (Law)
Bcom (Law)
LLM Course Work
Bursaries for legal studies
– Natural and Agricultural Sciences

Physical and Chemical Sciences
Biological Sciences
Geo- and Spatial Sciences
Agricultural Sciences
Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
Computer Sciences and Information Systems
Business Mathematics and Informatics
– Theology

Christian Ministry and Leadership
Ancient Language and Text Studies


How To Apply

Step 1:  Get your application form.

Step 2:  Complete your application form in full.

*Remember you’ll need an email address.  Don’t have one?  Get an email address here

Step 3:  Attach all supporting documents.

Step 4:  Complete a student accommodation form.

Please note: An accommodation deposit of R500 is required with a residence application.

In case of a change of application details
Prospective applicants (only those who have already submitted their applications) can amend/change their personal details on the online application, or request a change of qualification or campus (if capacity allows) by contacting the Central Applications Office on 018 285 4320. Please be sure to have your student number and contact details ready.


Application Fees 
Northwestern is committed to creating and supporting a diverse and inclusive campus community of students from every financial background. That’s why they want to make sure their $75 application fee does not pose a barrier for any student who wishes to apply.

Remember to: Calculate your APS.

Application Closing Dates

North-West University NWU Application Closing Dates 2023-2024

  • Non-selection courses: 30 September.
  • Music: 31 August – Also apply for an audition before the closing date.
  • Graphic Design: 31 August.
  • Engineering: 30 September.
  • Occupational Hygiene: 30 September.
  • Urban and Regional Planning: 30 September.
  • Pharmacy: 31 July.

Related Post:

  1. North-West University Courses Offered
  2. SASSA North West Contact Details And Address

Contact Info And Website

For Admission-Related Contact:

018 299-4897

Need to find the institution?

Physical Address:
North-West University
Institutional Office
Building C1
53 Borcherd Street


Read about other Institutions:

Central University of Technology (CUT)

Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT) 

Durban University of Technology (DUT)

Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT)

Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)

Demzyportal Category: Institution

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *